LE MAS BRUGUIERE

7 GENERATIONS OF PASSION

 

No less than 7 successive generations of the same family have worked this land nestling in the valley that separates two limestone giants: the Pic Saint Loup and the Hortus.

This great love affair with the land began in the 13th century with farmer, Pierre Bruguière, owner of Mas de Combes (now Mas de Barou), who declared his assets before Attorney, Jean Bonnieu, in May 1259.

The creation of Mas Bruguière came later, after the French Revolution. Antoine, a native of Barou, acquired lands, wood and fields and among other things, started cultivating the vine. The 1870s were cruel to the Languedoc – all its vineyards were destroyed by phylloxera. In 1880, Pierre decided to start replanting the vine and the Domaine began to concentrate on grape growing. Adrien kept the estate together, and then in the 1950s, Albert committed to trade unionism and was involved in the creation of the Syndicat du Pic Saint Loup. The vineyards were destroyed by frost in 1956 and Albert replanted table grape vines on around ten hectares of land near the Mas.

In 1974, Xavier’s father, Guilhem returned to his roots, although he had looked set to follow a different calling. Another chapter of Mas Bruguière’s history began when Guilhem started growing better quality grapes. The existing vines were torn up, the vineyards replanted with traditional grape varieties, and preparations were made to leave the cooperative. In 1986 Guilhem commenced the vinification of the first wine that was to mark his new status of independent winemaker. Guilhem and his wife Isabelle helped in Pic Saint Loup’s metamorphosis and the building of its reputation. The wines were recognised and rewarded by leading wine critics and sommeliers, and were highly appreciated by wine drinkers.

The family adventure won’t stop here … Xavier, after a very enriching apprenticeship at the Château La Liquière in Faugères, returned to the family farm to continue the tradition with great enthusiasm and passion. In order to best express the character of this land with a viticulture that is clean and eco-friendly, and backed by his wife Marjorie, they underwent a great challenge in deciding to make the transition to farming in the organic sector.

ESTATE

Le Mas* survived the mayhem wrought by the French Revolution that affected the Languedoc Estates, of which Montpellier was the capital. Jean-Jacques Louis Durand, owner of the beautiful Valflaunès property and the town’s first mayor to be elected by universal suffrage, went to the guillotine on 12 January 1794 at the age of 33 (he refused to apply the terror guidelines).

Mas Bruguière, formerly “Mas de la Plaine”, was part of a more impressive ensemble that included Mas Rigaud, le Mazet and la Plaine, together known as the “Métairies du Mas Rigaud” (Mas Rigaud small holdings). These assets were seized and sold as State assets, with the exception of those of Valflaunès which Durand’s widow was to recover at the time of the Restoration. Almost ruined, she put la Plaine up for auction. This was purchased by Antoine, the first in a long line of Bruguière to live there. The first building, currently the head office, was built in the early 1800s with a wing added in 1863.

In 1999, Xavier made his first step as a winemaker in this completely new modern and functional winery, which allows the grapes to be treated with respect, housing the underground cellar that maintains the light and temperature levels of the future vintages; one of the most peaceful locations in Mas….

Very recently a new tasting cellar was created, and Marjorie and Xavier will make you feel very welcome in this luminous and friendly place.

* Mas: farm, small holding, agricultural estate, occasionally a hamlet. “Mas” comes from the “Oc” language, derived from the Latin “mansum”.

THE PIC SAINT LOUP

 

The Pic Saint Loup appellation is the northernmost of the Languedoc, located 25 km north of Montpellier, where it benefits from a very special micro-climate. Rainfall here is more abundant and the nights are cool in August, when the grapes are ripening. This is the reason for the characteristic freshness found in Pic Saint Loup wines.

This appellation quickly become a flagship appellation in Languedoc, it has been able to catch up since the 1970s thanks to the impetus of a few pioneers including my father Guilhem Bruguière. Pic Saint Loup has been recognised as an “Appellation d’Origine Contrôlée” (AOC) since September 7, 2016, a reward much awaited by the vintners of Pic St Loup and which asserts the identity of the terroir and the typicality of the Pic St Loup wines.

(Syndicat des vignerons du Pic St Loup (Pic Saint Loup winemakers union): 04 67 55 97 47)

Close Menu
en_USEN
fr_FRFR en_USEN
×

Cart

LE MAS BRUGUIERE

7 GÉNÉRATIONS DE PASSION

 

Une belle histoire de transmission, 7 générations se sont succédées sur ces terres nichées dans le vallon séparant les 2 colosses calcaires : le Pic Saint Loup et l’Hortus.

Une histoire d’amour avec la terre amorcée par Pierre Bruguière, propriétaire du Mas de Combes (actuellement Mas de Barou) au XIII siècle. Agriculteur, il a fait reconnaissance de ses biens devant Maitre Jean Bonnieu en Mai 1259.

La naissance du Mas Bruguière est plus tardive, elle débute après la Révolution. Antoine, natif du Barou fait l’acquisition de terres, de bois, de champs et pratique pour la première fois, entre autres, la culture de la vigne. Les années 1870 furent cruelles pour le Languedoc, toutes les vignes furent détruites par le phylloxéra. Pierre décide alors de replanter à partir de 1880 et le Domaine s’oriente vers une monoculture de la vigne. Adrien maintient l’unité du Domaine, et Albert dans les années 1950 s’engage dans la vie syndicaliste et participe à la création du Syndicat du Pic Saint Loup. Les gelées de 1956 détruisent l’ensemble des vignes, et de nouveau Albert replante sur une dizaine d’ha située autour du mas des raisins de table.

Guilhem, le père de Xavier, en 1974, fait un retour aux sources, alors qu’il était appelé à un autre destin. Il entreprend de changer l’histoire du terroir du Mas, et s’oriente vers une culture qualitative. Il arrache, replante des cépages traditionnels et prépare sa sortie de la coopération. Il commence à vinifier en 1986 la première cuvée qui fête son statut de vigneron indépendant. Guilhem et son épouse Isabelle ont participé à la métamorphose et à la renommée de ce terroir du Pic Saint Loup. Les cuvées sont distinguées et reconnues par les meilleurs critiques et sommeliers du monde du vin ; les consommateurs les plébiscitent.

L’aventure familiale ne s’arrête pas là…  Xavier, après un apprentissage très enrichissant au Château La Liquière à Faugères,  revient sur l’exploitation familiale et perpétue la tradition avec beaucoup d’enthousiasme et de passion. Pour exprimer au mieux la typicité de ce terroir à travers une viticulture propre et respectueuse de notre environnement, il a relevé un grand défi puisque le domaine est passé en agriculture biologique.

LE MAS

Le Mas* a survécu à la période trouble de la révolution qui a touché les Etats du Languedoc dont Montpellier était le siège.

Jean-Jacques Louis Durand, propriétaire de cette belle demeure de Valflaunès et premier Maire de cette ville élu au suffrage universel fut guillotiné le 12 janvier 1794 à l’âge de 33 ans (il n’avait pas voulu appliquer les consignes de la terreur).

Le Mas Bruguière, anciennement “Le Mas de la Plaine”, faisait partie d’un ensemble plus imposant qui comprenait le Mas Rigaud, le Mazet et la Plaine, le tout baptisé les Métairies du Mas Rigaud. Ces biens furent mis sous séquestre et vendus comme bien nationaux, épargnant ceux de Valflaunès que la veuve Durand récupéra à la Restauration. Quasiment ruinée, elle vendit aux enchères la Plaine acquise par Antoine, le premier de la longue lignée des Bruguière en ce lieu. La première Bâtisse, actuellement la maison mère a été édifiée au début des années 1800 avec une aile rajoutée en 1863.

En 1999, Xavier fait ses premiers pas de vignerons dans une toute nouvelle cave, moderne et fonctionnelle, cette cave permet le respect du raisin et le chai enterré qui abrite le futur millésime de la lumière et des variations de températures est un dès lieux du Mas ou la sérénité règne….

Très récemment un nouveau caveau de dégustation a vu le jour, c’est dans un lieu lumineux et convivial que Xavier vous accueillera.

* Mas : ferme, métairie, domaine agricole, parfois hameau. Mas est un mot de langue d’oc venant du latin « mansum ».

LE PIC SAINT LOUP

 

L’Appellation Languedoc terroir Pic Saint Loup est la plus septentrionale du Languedoc, située à 25 kms au nord de Montpellier, elle bénéficie d’un micro climat bien spécifique. Les précipitations y sont plus abondantes et les nuits sont fraîches au mois d’août en pleine phase de maturation des raisins, c’est cela qui caractérise la fraîcheur des vins du Pic Saint Loup.

Très dynamique cette appellation est devenue une appellation phare en Languedoc, elle a su rattraper son retard depuis les années 1970 grâce à l’impulsion des quelques pionniers dont mon père Guilhem Bruguière. Le Pic Saint Loup est reconnu en appellation d’Origine Contrôlée (AOC) depuis le 7 septembre 2016, une récompense très attendue par les vignerons du Pic St Loup et qui vient affirmer l’identité du terroir et la typicité des vins Pic St Loup.

(Syndicat des vignerons du Pic St Loup : 04 67 55 97 47)

Fermer le menu
fr_FRFR
en_USEN fr_FRFR
×

Panier